I stopped playing FUT about 3 weeks ago - this is what I realized, and wish EA would also read

4dvz
1142 posts Professional
edited July 2020
First of all, I love Fifa games and I have been playing them for + 20 years, every year.

I have been a total maniac, who has been obsessed with being the best out there for 2 decades now. Only in a few ocassions I actually proved myself to be amongst the best during this time, but it`s been a long time ago now. Last years I have been a complete loser in this game in my point of view, never mind the +2000 matches I played FUT this year. No significant accomplishments, but I did try, I really did.

I have been exhausted and down for a long time. This is something I realized at first, when I had been 1 week without this game. I felt this sense of freedom that I had not felt in a long time. I got to actually figure out things to do for my weekend, instead of obsessively playing the weekend league. After the 2nd week I was no longer exhausted, nor felt bad in general. I was happy. I didn`t remember how it felt to be happy, and to be honest when I realized this I cried a bit because it felt so nice.

What drove me into exhaustion, was the constant pressure to stay in the competition of getting the best possible players, getting red picks every week, not missing anything you know and being able to get all the new players they constantly release. I felt the pressure because I wanted my team to be able to compete against other players. 30 sweaty matches every weekend with the breaks you need to take in order to play well.. it eats up a lot of time. I could play 10 matches friday, saturday and sunday in general and I felt I always had to do it even though it consumed too much of my time, and made me frustrated and tired. I had no energy left for other activities. I work from monday to friday, and weekend should be the time to live my life. This is what I chose to do for years in a row, years.