WL Novices (the "This could get very messy..." thread)

EricVanDerek
644 posts An Exciting Prospect
edited October 2018
Edit: This was originally intended as a personal voyage of discovery into my first ever Weekend League, but - wonderfully - others have joined me on the adventure.
So if this is your first year of WL, then come on in - the water's lovely...

Let us know how it goes - what teams you're using, any helpful hints and tips for other novices, and any other completely random information. Copying blatantly from the BBC's mission statement, this thread is here to inform, educate and entertain.

Good luck all !

The original post:

I've been playing FIFA for decades, and FUT for nearly 4 years.
This coming WL is the first one I've qualified for (woo hoo!) - the benefits of being able to qualify from playing and losing lots and lots of games.
(I tried the DKT's in the past, but could never string together enough back to back wins)

It's hugely flattering to call me completely, utterly useless.
I started Rivals in Div 6, but am "doing a Sunderland" - I'm now mid table Div 7.

I'm hopeful of fitting in about 20 games of WL.

Realistically, if I get one win it will be a flippin' miracle.

So if you find yourself playing "Grimbo", get ready for a goal-fest, and be gentle on me please...

About 20 years ago my local club side played a qualifying round of the FA cup (I can only assume due to an administrative error). We actually scored first - a 30 yard top corner stunner - but that was the last kick we had, and despite our goalie having the game of his life, we lost 16-1.
I'm expecting something very similar this weekend in every single game (except without the opening goal... )
Post edited by EricVanDerek on

Comments

• Hopefully it'll be a smooth first experience with the WL! I'd recommend taking tons of breaks. Had a friend who has a mental breakdown every WL when he starts losing xD
  • Dazzler
    1794 posts Play-Off Hero