Question: Breaking down people who play drop back

Ballerson
560 posts An Exciting Prospect
Because of corona, I've now had time to play WL for two consecutive weekends so I am still learning the tactics and gamesmanship of WL.

For those of you who are consistently good, how do you break down a drop back defense?

When I see LaPorte as a cb, I know I am in for a grueling, grinding game.

In normal football, say in FA Cup or DFB Pokal, second or third division teams put most of their guys in the box, its extra physical so the less skilled team can frustrate and interrupt and actually hurt the more skilled team....so the more skilled teams typically score goals off headers or if the more skilled team can draw out the box sitters, one can counter attack.

Since heading is basically nerfed in Fifa 20, what do you to successfully break down the drop backers who use LaPorte?? I am good at possession and working triangles to find avenues in the box to get off shots, but I also find the peeps who use drop back get lucky ❤️❤️❤️❤️ gk who make dumb ❤️❤️❤️❤️ fingertip saves -- if the gk is not on steroids, I can get a lead usually and keep it. I find I outshoot drop backers by 7-16 shots.

How do you successfully break down drop backers whose gks are on droids and somehow, the cbs miraculously recover if and when I get behind them or they don't get called for a foul?

Also, how is it that cbs can just smash the hell outta a striker or cam, not even play ball from behind, and not get called....then my d makes a whiff in front of the offense and its a deadly free kick? How do you who go 22- 8 or who win in the upper wl categories evade or put up or work around all this donkey dung junk??

Smarmy troll like comments not welcome.....

Comments

• FijiBoy
    1321 posts Professional
    I played 24 4231 users and drop back abusers.