OT Working Away (delete if not allowed)

TimRUFC
3689 posts National Call-Up
Evening lads, my boss today has basically offered me a few months work on a 4 on 3 off basis 3 hours away from home. I've never worked away from home before and have a Mrs of 15 years and 3 sons 13, 11 and 10 who I've not been away from before. Think I'd be mad to pass up on it as obviously Christmas is coming up but just wondered if any of the older members of the group have any experience in working away who have kids and how they coped through it?? Thanks fellas

Comments

• YOLOT0URE
    7899 posts League Winner
    If your missus isn’t giving you grief about it go for it. Your kids are old enough to help out and, let’s face it, technology is there if anything is up. As long as the money is worth it ofc. You’ve got (another assumption) the weekend off as a family too
  • TimRUFC
    YOLOT0URE wrote: »
    If your missus isn’t giving you grief about it go for it. Your kids are old enough to help out and, let’s face it, technology is there if anything is up. As long as the money is worth it ofc. You’ve got (another assumption) the weekend off as a family too

Thanks mate that's what I was thinking tbh and no she's very understanding about it all and understands work is work just more me being a wimp about it tbh and nervous about been away from them all
  • TimRUFC
    Just get yourself tinder for when you're away man

Ffs trust u 🤣
    Thanks for the input 🤦‍♂️
  • DarthGrowler
    16190 posts World Class
    TimRUFC wrote: »

Ffs trust u 🤣

Sorry man, couldn't help myself. Haven't worked away since having a kid but before I spent like 5 months away from the missus and it wasn't easy. Can't imagine it being easy with littluns involved but if what you're doing will improve their lives you have to do it
  • nickmack
    521 posts An Exciting Prospect