When an outfield player stands in goal because the goalie is elsewhere, the outfield player doesn't count as an outfield as far as offsides are concerned. (Effectively gets the offside rules of a keeper) This means that you can be called offside when you are onside by literally metres, which, meant losing the WC final for me
. What's worse is that my opponent equalised when his ST charged down a goal kick which IS illegal in football. EA <B
You are offside when there are less than TWO players between you and the goal, at the moment when the ball is played. These two players can be ANYONE – 1 keeper 1 defender, 2 defenders, 1 keeper 1 striker, 2 strikers... etc.
Official phrasing from https://www.fifa.com/mm/document/afdeveloping/refereeing/5. law 11_554.pdf
A player is in an offside position if:
He is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent.
Maybe you should explain the exact scenario that happened for us to really determine whether it was offside or not.
Charging down the drop kick is not illegal. It is only illegal to make contact with the ball before it leaves the goalkeeper's possession, i.e. kick it out of his hands, or stick your foot so close that it touches or blocks the ball before it even leaves his hands.
Karius' mistake vs Benzema is a prime example of how it isn't illegal.
Is that really the official stance on it?
I was always under the impression was it only had to be an outfield player nearest to the goal?
So if the keeper comes out and gets tackled but there’s a player on the line, then you can’t pass it forward because there’s not 2 players if the only other defender is on the line?
Look at Son Heung Min's goal against Germany when Neuer was trying to be a winger. They had to double check with VAR to confirm that he was in his own half when the ball was played. Otherwise he would have been offside even though there was one German defender ahead of him.
Correct me if I'm wrong or confusing your post but, the entire motion of a keeper kicking the ball from his hands is classed as one action, so if a player blocks the ball as the keeper kicks it it's also a foul(though exactly WHAT the end of the motion is I'm unsure)