'Tactical Defending' has ruined the FIFA series

ricardibreezer
35 posts Last Pick at the Park
edited January 2018
I've been saying this for 7 years now.

Firstly, let m say that the proof is in the pudding:

FIFA 09 Metacritic user score: 7.5 (PS) / 8.0 (Xbx)
FIFA 10 Metacritic user score: 7.5 / 7.5
FIFA 11 Metacritic user score: 8.0 / 7.5

tactical defending introduced in 12----

FIFA 12 Metacritic user score: 7.2 / 6.7
FIFA 13 Metacritic user score: 6.6 / 6.1
FIFA 14 Metacritic user score: 6.3 / 4.2
FIFA 15 Metacritic user score: 5.6 / 4.2
FIFA 16 Metacritic user score: 4.3 / 2.9
FIFA 17 Metacritic user score: 4.8 / 5.1
FIFA 18 Metacritic user score: 3.4 / 2.8

I'll explain why "Tactical Defending" has ruined the game.

Contain & 'contain-bots'

The very concept of contain, and 'team mate contain' is not only unrealistic (the defender mirrors the attacker, like he knows the direction the attacker will go before the attacker himself knows it), but it's both excruciating to play against, and to use.

When using the contain feature, it mind-numbing just watching your defender mirror the attacker, when really you want to win the ball - you can ofcourse stick out a big clumsy leg using standing-tackle, but for most players, manually tackling is too risky. The majority of players will either A. Use contain, or B. Control another defender and use 'team mate contain'. It's comical to watch "team mate contain", often an attacker will dribble up close to 1 or 2 'teammate contain-bots' only for them to stare at the ball while trotting backwards.

Can you imagine if this was real life? You would be wondering why the defenders were not tackling, but just staring blankly at the ball as they moved in the direction the attacker moved. Better players will jockey potential pass channels hoping to get in interception, while his teammates contain - maybe he hopes the attacker will run too close to the contain-bot who will initiate an auto-tackle.